Being thankful

Where do I even start:) First of all, I must apologize for this post being later than expected. I found out quickly that I left my computer charger at home. Do you know how hard it is to get a chrome book charger? Well let me tell you…..I looked in almost every electronic store in two different countries….funny…but that is not a lie! Finally I resolved to amazon; however, with us traveling and moving every day I didn’t know exactly where to sent the stupid thing to, so I just gave up. To top it all off, the shipping would have been more expensive than the actually charger itself. I was done. So there is my excuse to why you are not going to get a day to day log of my adventure to Alaska. That probably is a good thing though, because who really wants to read a day to day blog of some Alaska motorcyle trip? Oh yeah…you !

My gosh, where do I even start. I did a good job of keeping a diary every day and then of course the paragraphs dwindled to short phrases, which ended up to single words and then ended up just taking pictures to refresh my memory. I look up to those who keep up with a blog everyday and add pictures; Kudos to you!

There is so much to be thankful for on our adventure. Neither of us got hurt by any wildlife nor on the motorcycle. Adam and I got along great (well 99.9 % of the time…hehehe). The motorcycle ran great and our butts didn’t get too sore. We met so many wonderful people along the way. It’s interesting how being on a motorcycle and getting gas takes twice as long than when in a car. The reason I say that is because every gas station we stopped at there was always a conversation to be had. Being from Iowa, everyone was very interested in our adventure. They would noticed our bike loaded down and then notice the Iowa license plate and the wow factor set in. Especially when we hit Alaska! Although, to our surprise a lot of people, I would say at least 90% of the people, actually knew where Iowa was AND were either from Iowa or had been through our beautiful state.

I will forever be grateful for Bill and Jennifer in Grande Prairie, Alberta. We needed gas and we ended up talking to this couple. Adam was talking to Bill as I was talking to Jennifer. I got to talking about the time that I was freezing cold in a storm (more on this later) and asked if there was a place in town to buy a heated jacket. She told me about a place about 2 miles down the road called Mark’s (I could be wrong on that). After Adam and Bill finished up their conversation, I told Adam that Jennifer mentioned where to look for a heated vest. Well, this is when Bill chimed in and said, “I have a vest that may fit you.” I didn’t even know how to respond. He said, “We live 15 minutes away, let us go pick it up and we will meet you in the parking lot of Mark’s.” I said, “ok.” So we drove over to Mark’s and waited in the parking lot. About 15 minutes later, here rolls in Bill and Jennifer with a heat vest. He gave it to me and said, “Here try it on.”  I did just that:) He said, “Well look, it fits you perfectly.” He was right, it was a perfect fit. I said, “How much can I pay you for this.” Knowing that the night before, Adam and I were doing research on these things and it was going to cost at least 100 dollars new!! He said, “Nothing, it’s yours!” I said, “What…no…..” He said that he had grown out of it and it was giving to him. I was literally almost in tears. This was definitely a Godly thing! Thank you, thank you, thank you Bill and Jennifer for being so kind to give that to me.  I used that vest EVERY SINGLE day…no lie! It served me very well. I was and still am very grateful for their kindness. I unfortunately did not get a picture with the two of them:( Wish I would have. We did get Bill’s business card so I will be sending him a thank you and maybe a picture with me in my vest:) I am sure he will frame that….lol:)

From time to time, we stopped at a Starbucks. Such a lovely treat when we were on the motorcycle all day. I would talk Adam into it by saying, “Don’t you need Wi-fi for some reason.” He knew better than to say that we could basically get wifi anywhere. He was so good to me. Another thing to be thankful for, my lovely boyfriend Adam. More through out my blogs on how amazing he was to me on this trip! Anyway, this particular stop at Starbucks was not only going to give my my caffeine fix and his wifi, but determine our destination in Alaska. This is where we met Dave. He also drove a BMW. We got to talking with him about motorcycles and trips. He and Adam had a lot in common. They both were pilots and in the military (Dave is retired now). Dave’s wife, Mary, was not on the trip with him, but as I found out later, is very much into health herself! I was very excited to meet her. This is when Dave told us about the Dust to Dawson event in Dawson City and the BMW rally in Salt Lake City, Utah. Both of which we had no idea either was happening. We didn’t know what the Dust to Dawson event was, and neither Adam nor I had ever been to a motorcycle rally before. So we got on the internet and looked both up. We knew that our only obligation was to be at Denali National Park on June 24th to meet some friends hiking. We got Dave’s information and told him we would sure contact him if we could make it. I asked Dave if his wife was coming and he said not to the D2D, but the BMW rally she was going to be at! I was very excited to meet her! It is sure funny how stopping at a simply coffee shop and having conversations with people how much your life changes!

I am also thankful for running water, my bed, and the ability to get up and pour my coffee from a machine rather than boiling my water, stoves, microwaves, dishwashers, being able to take a shower everyday with out having to pay money, shampoo, my toilet rather than pit toilets, abundance of toilet paper by my side when going to the rest room, hand soap readily available, running water…or wait I already said that, a bug free place of shelter! Please don’t get me wrong, I am NOT by any means, complaining about ANY part of my trip. I loved camping and the adventure! God created such a wonderful world and is an amazing artist, I will be forever blessed.

I will leave you with just how amazing God is. This picture does not even give it justice, but you get the idea. The reflection of the mountains on the lake was just absolutely beautiful! This was at Glacier National Park.

20170607_103124

I am very thankful and blessed to be able to have the time off to go on this adventure and to share it with all of you! Being healthy is not only about the foods that you put in your mouth, but also being able to enjoy God’s country and know that we have a lot to be thankful for!

Until next time…always count your blessings!

