How to pick a delicious pineapple:)

3 things I learned about a pineapple:

pineapple-359400_1280

 

1) How to more effectively cut a pineapple:

  • I found a kitchen utensil that I am excited to use a lot more.  I was at HyVee and saw a pineapple cutter. It cost about 10 dollars. A lot of the reviews that I read said that it was worth it and have had it for 2 years. Another review said that the blades even after 2 years have not dulled. So I gave it a try. I must say that my review for this product is…..”it’s a must have kitchen utensil!” It was so easy to use and way less waste than when I cut the pineapple. Click here to reveal the best pineapple utensil ever (well in my opinion anyway..) and get it on ebay:)

2) How to pick a delicious pineapple:

  • Do the sniff test. If it smells like pineapple then it is a delicious pineapple:)

3) How else to pick a delicious pineapple:

  • If you can pull the leaves off easily it is also a sign of a ready to eat pineapple!

I have also read the following but have not tried the following to see if it works…

1. I found this on WikiHow

  • Avoid pineapples with wrinkled skin, reddish-brown skin, cracks or leaks, mold, or brown withering leaves.
  • Choose pineapples with healthy green leaves.
  • The shape should be well rounded and rounded eyes.

2. Whole Foods Market does a good explanation on how to pick a good pineapple. They say pretty much the same thing. Look at the leaves and make sure they are green and look for a firm shell. They also said that a green pineapple DOES NOT mean it is not ripe! This website also gives a good video on how to cut it and some good pineapple recipes:) Check it out here.

Until next time… eat fresh fruit!

 

