Addicted to sugar?

sugar-485055_1280

Are you addicted to sugar? If you answered no, then ask yourself this question: Can you stick to 6 or fewer teaspoons of added sugar a day? Remember a lot of foods have added sugar…. A LOT! Look at the ingredients of every food that you cook with or eat. Does it say sugar in the ingredients? If it does, that means that sugar has been added. Remember, just because it doesn’t say sugar doesn’t mean it’s not sugar. Click here for a list of sneaky sugars.

Besides the fact that it taste good, why would you destroy your body with sugar? Oh I know why? Because you are addicted to it! Did you know that sugar is the most addicting “drug”? Like abusive drugs, sugar causes a release of dopamine in the reward center of the brain (research base evidence here). Think about it. Have you ever tried to quit eating sugar? I have. It is not the easiest thing in the world to do. The following is the reason why it was difficult for me:

1- Sugar is in most foods that we eat today. Therefore, it is hard to get away from it!

2-I went through some unpleasant withdraws such as headaches, mood swings, exhaustion, hunger, work outs got worse before they got better, mood irritations, and the list seems to go on 😛

4-  Social outings always seem to revolve around food…with sugar.

5- The questions that I got when I declined certain foods was interesting but yet empowering too:)

6- Mornings were not fun.

Of course, there is ALWAYS two sides to the story. The other side to this story was the reason WHY I decided to quit eating sugar. I did it for 30 days and I followed the whole30 challenge. The following is the reason why I took the plunge:

1- My work outs were suffering.

2- I read that “Sugar can act like poison in high doses—and the amount in our diets has gone beyond toxic,” says Robert Lustig, M.D., a neuroendocrinologist at the University of California at San Francisco School of Medicine.

3. Sugar has no nutritional value what so ever.

4. Found through much research that sugar is broken down into 2 simple sugars which are fructose and glucose. Glucose our bodies produce. Our bodies do not produce fructose in any significant amount and there is no physiological need for it. Our liver can only metabolize a certain amount of fructose. Remember that fruit is a good fructose and our liver can metabolize a little amount such as fruit which after we work out is a good thing for some people. I am talking about the excess that we don’t need that we eat that doesn’t come from fruit. However, if we eat too much fructose our liver can not handle it and it turns in to unnecessary fat. If this continues, our liver gets over worked thus diseases come in to play.

Basically #4 scared me a little bit because I don’t want to deal with any diseases. I have enough to worry about:P

The result of not eating sugar for 30 days:

1- I lost weight and felt great!

2- I woke up every morning feeling re-energized.

3- My work outs sky rocketed!

4- I had no more sugar cravings.

5- No more mood swings.

6- Learned how to cook with out sugar.

7- My grocery bill went DOWN because I was not craving the sugary foods therefore I didn’t buy them!

Now it’s your turn to decide if limiting sugar from your diet is worth it. Ask yourself this “Now that I know the health effects of sugar, is it worth continuing to digest it?”

Until next time….take the 30 day challenge and avoid sugar and see how you feel!

 

 

