Don’t you even think about giving up….

health-369782_1280 (1)

Funny thing happened to me today. Even though this is not my first rodeo of detoxing or getting back on track, I still sometimes forget how that detoxing feels and just want to give up. Well, I looked back at my little cheat sheet to remind myself if my feelings are on track with this cleansing thing. The answer is a big fat yes. My goal during this challenge is to tidy up my nutrition a smidgen, but also I am realistic with myself. For example, today I had a piece of dove chocolate. That’s it, nothing else that had sugar in it:) Most of today, I was tired, exhausted and just wore out. I wanted to go to the gym and after stop at Caribou and get a hazelnut and honey latte and order pizza and sit and watch a movie. I just wanted to throw in the towel! The success of that story is….I did not do any of those things! I came home had my yummy enchiladas that I had already prepared and made myself a cup of coffee with my pumpkin spice creamer. Oh and did I mention that the pants that use to fit me were a little too snug this morning. So …yeah.. I wanted to throw in the towel. BUT…then …low and be hold.. I opened up my “What to expect” document as I was drinking  my coffee.. and whola… my worries all melted away.

Melissa and Dallas Hartwig said it well, “The same processes that ran over you like a truck a few days ago are still working their magic in your body” meaning that’s why my pants were a little too snug this morning. Also, “Fact: you are most likely to quit your Whole30 program on Day 10 or 11.” ( I know that you are not all doing the whole30 program, but I do believe this detox process goes with any detox or any change in a diet). Well isn’t that just something. It’s like they can read my mind! They do a really good job of explaining how “this is the time when the newness has warn off. You have eaten your eggs millions of different ways, every where you go you see what you can’t have, you are still trying to set a new routine, you’re cranky, impatient, and you just want to eat the damn cheese! This is where you really start to experience the psychological hold that your food habits have on you.” As Dallas and Melissa go on to say, ” The key here is to redefine your idea of reward.” Click here to read more about what to expect on days 8-11.

After reading that, it really did make me feel better. This was not THEIR  first rodeo either. They are the ones that have done the research and have learned what the majority go through. Sometimes, it is just nice to know I am not the only one!

So… I look forward to the day I wake up and go… so this again is why I fuel my body the right way! I know it’s coming.. I have been there before… and I will be there again! 

Until next time… you are not alone, do not give up, you are worth it!

