Top 3 ways to reach a goal

 #1- Give your body a break

There is something said about given your body a break. Our gym was closed on July 4th and July 5th  and I didn’t go in July 6th; therefore, I took off 3 days. I went back today. After the Work Out of the Day (WOD) I worked on my ring muscle up progressions as usual. Didn’t have a lot of time, but worked on 10 ring dips without bands. I am happy to say that I did 3 ring dips with no assistance!! Way excited. The remaining 7 I attempted the ring dip by kipping. I figured if I can get ring dips with a red band mastered then I just need to take that crutch away and work on a prescribed ring dip. I use to, once upon a time, have a ring dip unassisted. My goal has been to get 10 unassisted ring dips and to do them Rxd (prescribed) in a WOD. I feel that by mastering a ring dip will help accomplish my ultimate goal of a ring muscle up.  Anyway…my point is….give your body a break and you will be amazed at what your muscles can do when they have been refreshed.

#2- Write down what you are doing each day to reach your goal

I have been writing down what I do each day to reach my goal. I began this at the beginning of this ring muscle up journey just to see the areas that I need to improve upon. Looking back through, I have found that on average I work on my skills about 3 times a week.  This actually shocked me. I really thought that I was doing my progressions way more than that.  At the beginning, my intentions were to work on it every day I am at the gym. I usually go to the gym 4-5 times a week. Each time I go to the gym, unless I am completely exhausted, or I am unable to stay later, I have been doing my progressions. So either I haven’t been to the gym as often as I thought or something has come up where I can’t do the progressions.  With this said, 3 times a week is good, but I need to up this to more. This is why I am glad that I am journaling what I do so that I know exactly where I am at.  So my thought is, to take a day once a week and just work on progressions and not do the WOD. I usually take off Thursdays because by then I am so sore and my body just needs a break. But, maybe this would be a good day to work on progressions. Also, make sure to do some kind of progressions even if exhausted. Because most often when you are exhausted that is when you build muscle. If I can do a muscle up when I am exhausted then I for sure can do it in a wod! Lessoned learned here…continue to write down what you do each and every day so that you can reevaluate what you need to do to reach your goals.

#3- Tell others about your goal

I have been keeping my friends up to date on my goals. Not to be “That Person” but to keep me accountable. I have a lot of people ask me how my muscle ups are coming along. I always reply “working on them” or “getting better” and one day I will be able to say “I got it!!”  The only reason why I tell people about my goals is because I know myself. I am the type of person that will not want to let anyone down, and wouldn’t want to say to anyone… “oh, I gave up on that”. Who does that…not this girl.  Also, if ya really think about it…I may be inspiring someone that I don’t even know to continue working on his/her goals. There are so many people in this world that inspire me each and every day. The days when I just want to give up, I think of certain people who never gave up. Some took years to work on certain skills while others took a few months. This shows me that everyone is different. DON’T GIVE UP! One day I will get it and instead of people saying “what is that crazy lady doing?” They will be asking “how did you do that?”

What is your goal? How are you going to achieve it? Who have you told about your goal? Have you written down how you are going to achieve your goal?

Here’s to determination and getting it done!

