Nutrition is the basis of a healthy and happy lifestyle

I will never forgot my 6th grade year in health class. I remember this moment like it was yesterday. My teacher said and I quote “If your parents are over weight you are more likely to be as well.” I love my parents and family to death and am very blessed for the life in which I was raised and would not take that back for the world. Both my father and mother’s family have history of being over weight. They both were farmers and man could they cook! Yummo! Amazing farm cooked food was just heavenly! With that said, it was hard to say no to any food. So when my teacher said that, I got kind of upset actually. I felt that anyone can make their own decisions and by golly I was not going to be over weight! I was going to stay active in tumbling, dance, and track. If I could help my family out by becoming an expert in nutrition, I would do just that. Well, that of course was 6th grade. I did, fortunately, stay active in tumbling, dance, and track through my senior year of high school and ate “healthy” and was never known as over weight. However, my love went toward teaching. I guess I wanted my summers and holidays off more. Teaching is a passion of mine don’t get me wrong, but nutrition has sure been a very fun hobby of mine:)

I have always been interested in the new and updated version of the good old “diet”. Oh how I love the internet…It’s so amazing at how much knowledge is out there! However, I sure have learned that when reading articles, posts, and whatever else comes my way..I need to be open minded because not everything works for one person. Also, EVERYONE has their own opinion…research based or not…I have found YOU have to find what works for YOU!

Through out my 37 years of life, I have done what america sees as a diet (low fat, low carbs, whole wheat, and the like), paleo, primal,whole 30, free days/meals just to name a few. Honestly, right now in my life, I choose paleo only because I have found that dairy doesn’t work for my body. Sugar is the devil and just drains me. Whole wheat does not do my body good at all. I am only human, and I do tend to get off the band wagon and enjoy off paleo foods. When I do this too much, I begin to feel lethargic, grumpy, and don’t perform well at the gym  nor in my daily activities such as work and home life. That is when I feel blessed that I found what works for me; paleo:) However, you may be different and that is what I am here to help you find.

I would like to end with one belief that I FIRMLY believe in! That is that nutrition is the basis of all happiness. If one is healthy, one will perform better at home, work, with their children, handle stress better, and all the like! YOU only have one body to invest in and it’s YOUR decision to invest in it. NO ONE else can do it but you. The funny thing is, everyone has the same 24 hours in a day and the same 7 days in a week. Every one has their own busy schedule and their own priorities in life. You simply have to decide what is going to be your priority. Yes, a change is not always the easiest in the world to go through, but it will be worth it in the end. I know that you will not be disappointed if you choose your health as a priority!

The following quote is from an author named Jim Rohn. Read more about him here.

Motivational Quote

